could be effected if readjustments were made on the basis of the population of all the provinces taken as a whole. The Act was amended accordingly in 1946 to provide a new rule to regulate representation in the House of Commons. Generally speaking, representation was fixed as follows:

The membership assigned to each province shall be computed by dividing the total population of the provinces by two hundred and fifty-four and by dividing the population of each province by the quotient so obtained.

This rule, employed in the redistribution of representation made in 1947, was effective in the general election of 1949.

After the completion of the 1951 Census it was apparent that, as a result of a wartime shift of population, a substantial reduction in the representation of Saskatchewan would ensue under the rules then regulating representation. Accordingly, in an effort to eliminate sharp reductions in provincial representation from one census to another, the BNA Act was again amended (RSC 1952, c.304, Sect. 51) to ensure that the representation of any province should not be reduced by more than 15% of the representation to which it was otherwise entitled after the last census, subject however to the qualification that the effect of the rule should not be to make the representation of a province with a smaller population greater than that of a province with a larger population.

In 1952, Parliament enacted legislation (RSC 1952, c.334), effective in the general election of 1953 and in each successive general election down to that of the twenty-seventh Parliament (November 8, 1965), which provided that representation in the House of Commons should be on the following basis:

Sect. 2. — Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one for Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members.

The Representation Commissioner Act setting up the office and duties of the Representation Commissioner was given Royal Assent on December 21, 1963. The Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act providing for the establishment of Electoral Boundaries Commissions to report on and to provide for the readjustment of the representation of the provinces in the House of Commons in accordance with the findings of the 1961 Census of Population was given Royal Assent on November 20, 1964.

Pursuant to Section 11 of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, the Dominion Statistician sent to the Representation Commissioner a certified return showing the population of Canada and of each of the provinces and the population of Canada by electoral districts as ascertained by the 1961 Census. The Representation Commissioner calculated the number of members of the House of Commons to be assigned to each of the provinces subject and according to the provisions of Section 51 of the BNA Act, 1867 as amended, and the rules provided therein. He then caused a statement to be published in the Canada Gazette of November 28, 1964, setting forth the following results:

Eighty-eight members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-four for the Province of Quebec, eleven for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, thirteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-three for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, thirteen for the Province of Saskatchewan, nineteen for the Province of Alberta and seven for the Province of Newfoundland.

By proclamation published in the Canada Gazette, the Governor General established an Electoral Boundaries Commission for each province charged with preparing, with all reasonable dispatch, a report setting forth its recommendations concerning the division of its particular province into electoral districts and the recommendations concerning the description of the boundaries of each such district and the representation and name to be given thereto. A copy of the 1961 Census return was sent to the chairman of each Commission immediately after its members were appointed.

As provided for in Section 8 of the Representation Commissioner Act, maps were prepared showing the distribution of population in each province and setting out alternative proposals respecting the boundaries of electoral districts in each province; these maps were then supplied to the respective Commissions. The Commissions completed their reports